Self-Care Is NOT Selfish

When I first started to implement my self-care routine I felt really selfish. I worried what others would think. Would they think that I didn’t like them or want to spend time with them? Would they think I’m weird?

That exact moment is when I heard my inner voice say “STOP!“.

Why did it matter what they thought? Sure, I love the people in my life. Of course I want to be with them. However, if my emotional glass is empty, how can I expect to give back to them or provide any value?

My mom has told me, “you can’t pour from an empty glass” and thats just so true.

That is when I realized that I’m only my best self when I take time to honor what my soul needs.

I’ve found that simply asking for the time I deserve goes a long way. Sometimes, instead of asking, I declare my time. This way, I’m not bothered. I can take an hour or two, or longer, to fill my soul with all that it needs.

How I Fill My Soul

I’ve found ways that have truly helped me fill my soul. The list is ever evolving. For instance, some of my current go-to ways are:

  • Take a hot shower
  • Use essential oils
  • Burn incense
  • Stretch
  • Read
  • Craft
  • Take a nap
  • Write

The list could go on and on.

What do you do when you just need a little extra self-care?

1 thought on “Self-Care Is NOT Selfish”

Leave a Reply

